Are People Taking The New Law Seriously?

September 1, 2017, a new law went into effect in the state of Texas regarding Texting While Driving. House Bill 62, signed by Texas Governor Greg Abbot earlier this year, prevents drivers from texting while their car is moving. Violators face a misdemeanor charge and a fine of between $25 to $99, although penalties could be as much as $200 for repeat offenders.

With 1 in 5 traffic crashes in Texas now caused by the growing problem of distracted driving, the law is designed to crack down on distracted driving and save Texans from accidents and deaths on roads across the state. In 2016, there were 109,658 traffic crashes in Texas involving distracted driving. As a result, more than 3,000 people were seriously injured and 455 were killed. These crashes were highest among new and younger drivers ages 16 to 34. It is hoped that the new law will encourage Texans to put away their cell phones while driving.

Read the Bill here…

http://www.capitol.state.tx.us/tlodocs/85R/billtext/pdf/HB00062F.pdf

SHARE

RELATED CONTENT

Congratulations to Bri Minor! She Won Luke Bryan Tickets! Erin Go Braugh! Win tickets to the North Texas Irish Festival!! CONGRATULATIONS to Amanda Hammond on Winning Jason Aldean Tickets! Listen all week to win Jason Aldean tickets before you can buy them! Taylor Swift Buys Whole Block in NYC A $1400 Fanny Pack? Please No. Just No.
Comments